Mark Christopher Brandt

Structure and Freedom DVD (2018)

Buy It

Featured Artists

Mark Christopher Brandt: acoustic piano

Yana Nikol: flute

Secured SIte

About Structure and Freedom DVD (Released October 13, 2018)


In Structure and Freedom, the third installment of Mark’s mystical series on improvisation, Mark seems even more relaxed and free - if such a thing is possible - than in either of his earlier improvisational DVDs.  In this work of art,  Mark brings his friend, virtuoso flutist Yana Nikol, into the studio and the two share their extraordinary and endearing chemistry with no pretense.  Clips of the two artists working through chord progressions and discussing improvisational concepts are included in the DVD as well as some truly fun off-the-cuff surprises.


As in the case of Seven Moons (2015) and Seven Gifts (2016) the camera work by Scott Nurmi of Mojo Factory Productions is as much a part of the action as the music. In certain moments, the interplay between Scott and the musicians steps away from the rules of filmmaking and brings an extra element of joy to the project.


Lionheart Music East Web Designs ©2018 All rights reserved.

This is a secured site.  Lifelock protected.